Free of Guilt and Rid of Shame

Guilt. Shame. 

Two feelings that I feel quite often. I am my own worst critic. I overthink everything, and if you’re anything like me, more often than not you find yourself taking the blame for things you don’t need to. 

If I’m running late somewhere or forget to turn an assignment in, I feel so guilty. I feel ashamed of myself that I would do something so silly. 

If I say something sassy or text someone a bunch and think they’re annoyed with me I am yet again filled with shame. I feel shameful of myself, that I have hurt someone’s feelings or have annoyed them or imposed upon them. 

These feelings of guilt and shame are lifted away when I put my trust in Jesus and his grace. 

You see, I know about grace. I believe in Jesus’s grace. But I often don’t let it sink in. I ignore this amazing, indescribable gift from the Lord and blame myself for my shortcomings. But why? Jesus offers grace that floods our thirsty souls. He does not want us to feel shameful, guilty or hard on ourselves. He wants us to be free in his grace and forgiveness. 
Because of his grace, our mistakes do not define us because we are free to be forgiven. 

Some of my favorite worship song lyrics read “you’re making me like you. Clothing me in white. Making beauty from ashes, for you will have your bride. Free of all her guilt and rid of all her shame, and known by her true name.”

How beautiful. We are his bride. He frees us of our guilt and rids us of our shame. We don’t have to sit in our shortcomings. Instead we can lavish and appreciate his grace. 

I’m going to choose to walk in the  freedom of His grace, and I hope you will too!  

Leave a comment